The Castles of Rivne Region
Unlike Rivne, Rivne Region is a place with a number of ancient castles, fortresses, and fortifications. Some of them are in a good condition today, and some need to be restored as soon as possible. Unfortunately, there all that left from other numerous castles are the ruins. But even those places are very interesting and worth visiting. They will forever remain mysterious and picturesque, with ancient, almost fantastic atmosphere.
So, today we will tell you a bit about some castles and palaces of Rivne Region.
The Ostrog Castle
The first mention of Ostrog Castle dates back to the XIII century. However, that wooden fortification was destroyed during one of Mogul-Tatars’ raids. The reconstruction began in the XIV century, and at the beginning of the XVII century, Ianush Ostrozkyi completely rebuilt the place in the late Renaissance style. The castle belongs to irregular fortifications. Once it was surrounded by a moat of water, and its towers served as reinforcements. Today, it is considered to be a real touristic miracle, the unique ensemble of fortifications, a “pearl” of the medieval art of fortification, located on the top of 20-meter-high hill above the river Viliia in a quiet district center – a town called Ostrog.
The New Tower was built in the XV century. Nowadays, it is the only surviving example of a one-tower castle in Ukraine.
According to some legends, the Ostrog Castle and the Trinity Monastery-Fortress (built in the XV century) located 3 kilometers away in a village called Mezhyrich, are connected with secret underground tunnels. There are really some mazes and dungeons here, but they aren’t investigated yet. Every excavation attempt ends up with another mystic failure. Apparently, the Castle has its own ghosts. Is it even possible otherwise?
The Dubno Castle
The medieval fortifications of bastion type are located on the river Ikva in the center of the town named Dubno. The castle was built in the late XV century (to be precise, in 1492) and since then was never taken by assault. In the XVI century, over 70 guns were placed in the territory for its defense. The fortress used to have its own workshop, which constantly replenished the arsenal. During its existence, the building was rebuilt and reinforced several times. There are wide stone underground passages under the walls. During attacks, people were hiding from the enemies together with all their property, and in case of siege water supplies and food were stored here. These are the dungeons described in Nikolai Gogol’s novel Taras Bulba.
At different times, the place was a residence for different counts: Ostrozkyis, Sangushkos, Lubomyrskyis, Zaslavskyis. Since the late XIX century, when the Castle was sold to the Military Department, it has served as the seat of diverse military units: armies of Nicholas II, of the Austrian Emperor, the Poles, Red Army, and the fascists.
Palace of Mlyniv
This place was one of the largest residences of Polish nobility in Volyn. The building was designed by the court architect of the Polish king Stanislaw August. The Palace stands on the bank of the river Ikva. Nowadays, there is also a park of the nineteenth century left, and together with the palace ensemble it creates the single monuments of the landscape and palace architecture. The building has accommodated Mlyniv Local History Museum.
Palace in Velyki Mezhyrychi
The first local settlements date back to the middle of the XVI century. There was a stone defensive castle, several times surrounded and captured by Cossacks. During the reign of Counts Lubomirskyis, a collegium and a church were built in the area. Mezhyrychi passed from one owner to another. The Palace appeared here in 1789 after Volyn cornet Stetskyi won the town and the surrounding neighborhood at cards. The architectural ensemble also included the auxiliary ap wings and park buildings. The Palace was the major building. After a fire in 1968, it was significantly damaged. Some of the premises are used by children’s orphanage today.